Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely available, through August 1, 2019.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Looking back

Posted

One of the most popular items in the Wayne County Historical Society Museum Shop and Research Library is a book entitled “The Nomenclature of Wayne: A History of Wayne County, PA.” Originally, it was a series of newspaper articles in the Honesdale Citizen in 1905-1907, written by Thomas J. Ham (1837-1911). Ham traced the origin of the place names of Wayne County with emphasis on its post offices. The series might have been forgotten if Pike County historian George J. Fluhr had not resurrected them from the files of the News Eagle in 1995. In 2003, he gave the Wayne County Historical Society permission to reprint the book along with the every-name index, which had been prepared by WCHS volunteers Gene Tagle and Rae Ann Bishop. As time passes, it is ever more valuable in researching people and places and as a look into life in the early days of the county.

From the files of the Wayne County Historical Society. The museum and library are open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday.

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment