Contributed photo

Looking Back 3/22

In May 1888, a construction contract was awarded to David Kellam for $9,000. A year later, the Little Equinunk Bridge Company completed building the Kellam-Stalker Bridge.

The one-lane steel suspension bridge was a privately owned toll bridge until 1932, when it was purchased by the NY/PA Joint Bridge Commission for $10,000. A major rebuild in 1936 added steel towers, trusses, a deck, and new cables to the unique bridge. The photo shows workers on the 1936 rebuild.

The Kellam-Stalker Bridge remains one of the area’s only functional one-lane suspension bridges. The bridge is currently undergoing a $4.49 million renovation to replace many elements damaged by weather and time, and has been closed to traffic during the renovation; drivers on Route 97 near Callicoon will have noticed the detour signs.

The Basket Historical Society preserves and presents the history of the Upper Delaware area. If you are interested in becoming a member or finding out more contact us at baskethistsociety@gmail.com.

 

Privacy Policy & Terms of Use

Copyright 2017 Stuart Communications, Inc.

PO Box 150, 93 Erie Avenue

Narrowsburg NY 12764

(845) 252-7414

All Rights Reserved

Comment Here