Welcome to our new web site!
To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely available, through August 1, 2019.
During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.
Elihu Tallman, a Massachusetts native born in 1780, was a large landholder in Northern Wayne County. Around 1800, he settled at the site of Pleasant Mount. After buying a series of properties, in …
Elihu Tallman, a Massachusetts native born in 1780, was a large landholder in Northern Wayne County. Around 1800, he settled at the site of Pleasant Mount. After buying a series of properties, in 1819, he purchased an extensive tract at Six Mile Lake, now known as Lake Como. The property included a saw mill under construction, which sent the first raft ever run down the Delaware River from the Stockport banks.
For many years, Six Mile Lake was a center of industry. A large tannery was opened in 1859, and the lake was renamed by one of the tannery’s owners who had recently visited Lake Como in Lombardy. The tannery burned in 1868 and again in 1876, and ultimately the loss of the hemlock forests ended Lake Como’s industrial history. With the advent of the O&W Railroad in 1890, the area became a tourist destination, and today the lovely lake is ringed by summer cottages. Few, if any, vestiges of its industrial past remain.
From the files of the Wayne County Historical Society. The museum and library, at 810 Main St., Honesdale, are open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Wednesday through Saturday.