TRR photo by David Hulse

Those honored by the UDC on April 22 included, seated from left, Town of Tusten Supervisor Carol Ropke Wingert—Community Service Award; GIS mapping specialist Dr. Shannon Thol—Volunteer Award; George J. Fluhr of Shohola Township—Distinguished Service Award; Carol Ann MacMaster of the Equinunk Historical Society—Cultural Achievement Award; Sam Rowe of Hancock—Community Service Award; National Park Service (NPS) Biologist Jessica Newbern and former UDC Secretary Cindy Odell—Special Recognition Awards. Standing from left to right are NPS Ranger Sean McNeil, Cinthia Ibarra of Mt. Vernon, NY, and NPS Park Ranger Kevin Reish, co-recipients of the Robin M. Daniels Memorial Lifesaving Award; 2017 UDC Chairperson Jim Greier of the Town of Fremont—Oaken Gavel Award; and EMT Lou Pine with the Eldred American Legion Ambulance Service, another co-recipient of the Lifesaving Award. Missing from the group photo was U.S. Congressman John J. Faso, who received the Advocacy Award earlier in the ceremony; and Mary Belezaire of Mt. Vernon, co-recipient of the Lifesaving Award, who were unable to attend.

UDC honors valley efforts

BEACH LAKE, PA — It was a day of anniversaries as the Upper Delaware Council (UDC) held its annual awards banquet on April 22 at Central House Family Resort in Beach Lake.

TRR photo by Dave Hulse

Facing imminent closure, Upper Delaware Council delegates posed on February 1, for what could be the council’s last annual group photo. Seated from the left are newly installed: Secretary-Treasurer Alan Henry of Berlin Township, PA; Vice-Chairman David Dean of the Town of Deerpark, NY; and Chairman Aaron Robinson, Shohola Township, PA. Other representatives and alternates standing, are Larry H. Richardson, Town of Cochecton, left; Steven Tambini, Delaware River Basin Commission; Bill Rudge, State of New York; Kristina Heister, National Park Service Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River; Virginia Dudko, Town of Deerpark; Tim Dugan, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; Roger Saumure, Shohola Township; Michael Barth, Westfall Township; Susan Sullivan, Town of Tusten; Fred Peckham, Town of Hancock; Kaitlin Haas, Town of Highland; Steve Adams, Damascus Township; Harold G. Roeder Jr., Town of Delaware; Doug Case, Lackawaxen Township; and Jim Greier, Town of Fremont. The Town of Lumberland’s representative and alternate positions are currently vacant.

UDC reorganizes, names officers, talks shutdown

NARROWSBURG, NY — The Upper Delaware Council (UDC) will shut down on March 30 if federal funding, withheld since October, is not forthcoming, officials announced at the panel’s February 1 meeting.

Where’s the money?

NARROWSBURG, NY — With snow and plunging temperatures, the Upper Delaware Council (UDC) did not meet on their scheduled night last week, so an expected discussion of the regional panel’s latest funding shortage is yet to take place.

File image

UDC: Please, sir, I want some more

NARROWSBURG, NY — When Dickens’ Oliver Twist asked for more, he was confined and the orphans’ workhouse put up a notice offering a reward for anyone who would take the troublemaker off their hands. The Upper Delaware Council (UDC) last month held out its bowl and is now concerned that a slap may be coming.


Privacy Policy & Terms of Use

Copyright 2017 Stuart Communications, Inc.

PO Box 150, 93 Erie Avenue

Narrowsburg NY 12764

(845) 252-7414

All Rights Reserved

Comment Here