Welcome to our new web site!
To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely available, through August 1, 2019.
During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.
Orson, originally Hine’s Corners, is located in the southwestern corner of Preston Township on the northern border of the elevation known as Sugar Loaf Mountain. The pioneer family for which the village was named was headed by David Hine, a veteran of the American Revolution from Massachusetts. His son, Merritt Hine, came to Ararat in Susquehanna County and, in 1840, bought a tract of land in adjacent Wayne County. He had a family of 12 children, seven of whom were boys—a great advantage to a pioneer farming family. His son, Royal Hine, also had 12 children, a significant clue to the origin of the name “Hine’s Corners.”
When the Ontario & Western Railroad came through northern Wayne County in 1890, however, the stop on the railroad was named Orson. The post office and surrounding area were also soon renamed to match the depot. Although it has been suggested that the name was changed to honor early settler Orson Case, there is no evidence to support this theory.
From the collection of the Wayne County Historical Society. The museum and research library, located at 810 Main St., are open Wednesday through Saturday, 10 a. m. to 4 p. m. Museum hours are 12 noon to 4 p.m. on Sundays.