Broken clouds
Broken clouds
26.6 °F
December 09, 2016
River Reporter Facebook pageTRR TwitterRSS Search

Farewell to winter

Sullivan West’s Rachel Deppa

March 22, 2012

SULLIVAN COUNTY, NY — Spring has arrived and we bid goodbye to the winter sports season.

For the Livingston Manor boys and girls teams that farewell came in the state semifinals and not the hoped-for title games. The 16-6 boys fell to Section 10 Madrid-Waddington 67-55 in Glens Falls. Mike Mills hit seven threes as part of his 25-point foray in the losing effort. Now, the nexus of the team will pick up their baseball gloves and work to defend their state championship on the diamond. The 12-9 Manor girls saw their season end in a 53-26 loss to Section 2 Argyle in the semifinals in Troy. The ladies look to defend their back-to-back state softball titles. Manor’s games were the coda to the winter season.

Tri-Valley and Sullivan West farewells were celebrated with awards night presentations on March 15.

Tri-umphant Valley’s winter featured a Section 9 championship in girls indoor track that followed county and divisional titles. The 18-2 girls basketball team made it back to the Class C finals before losing to Coleman Catholic. The boys indoor track team won division and county titles and was the Section 9 runner up. Two skiers went to states and a trio of indoor track athletes competed at Nationals. The cheerleaders took third in the OCIAA Division II Championship. Coaches summed up their season highlights and extolled their teams while thanking the supportive school, parents and community. The following Bears were lauded as award winners. Wrestling: John Monforte, MVP; Kyle Rogers, MIP; Jared Ratner and Kevin Palko, Coaches Award. Cheerleading: Brittany Rennison, MVP; Dorothy Monforte, MIP; Amber Buley, Coaches Award. Boys Basketball: Gavin DuBois, MIP; James Pugh, Most Valuable Defensive Player; Greg Swarthout, Most Valuable Offensive Player. Girls Basketball: Erin Smith, MIP; Sabrena Smith, Outstanding Defensive Player; Katlynn Greffrath, Outstanding Offensive Player. Girls Indoor Track: Autumn Bender, MVP; Vicky Tingle, MIP; Dominique Darby, Coaches Award. Boys Indoor Track: Jim Bernstein, MVP; Brendan Tierney, MIP; and Eugene Morton, Coaches Award. Alpine Skiing: Sarah Coney and Ryan Erts, MVP; Liz Bracken and Devon Bagley, Coaches Awards.