32 °F
December 07, 2016
River Reporter Facebook pageTRR TwitterRSS Search
community living

Grant awards ceremony for the arts

Contributed photo

NARROWSBURG, NY — The Delaware Valley Arts Alliance (DVAA) hosted the Decentralization Grants Program Awards Ceremony on Saturday, April 12 in which 15 county organizations received funds from the New York Council for the Arts (NYSCA) to assist in cultural and artistic programming. From left, top row are David Munford, Wurtsboro Arts Alliance; Heinrich Strauch, Liberty CDC; Christine Smetaniuk and Frank Schwarz, Town of Lumberland Cultural Series; Jim Newton, Callicoon Center Band; Rebeckah Decker, Sullivan County Community Chorus; Ron Lipke, Icehouse Arts; Harold Tighe, Sullivan County Dramatic Workshop; Clarence Kratz, Delaware Youth Center; and Jeffrey Allison, DVAA Board President. Sitting are Joan Fergus, Friends of Sunshine Hall Free Library; Victoria V. Leighton, Sullivan County Historical Society; and Matthew Miglicaccio, Phillipsport Community Center. In the middle row, behind Fergus, is Valerie Mansi, Liberty Free Theatre; and in the middle row at right are Pennie Mercado, Fallsburg Library; Kate O’Hara, Western Sullivan Public Library; and Mary Greene, DVAA Grants Coordinator. Not pictured: Delaware Valley Chamber Orchestra.